13 Books Like the Silent Patient You Need to Read

Writing

Book reading is not just a pastime; it’s a gateway to endless possibilities. It’s a chance to escape reality and lose yourself in the captivating narratives of talented authors.

In this delightful journey, books become your companions, transporting you to far-off lands, introducing you to fascinating characters, and igniting your imagination.

The joy of discovering new worlds, experiencing different perspectives, and feeling myriad emotions awaits you through our thriller recommendations.

Must Read Psychological Thrillers:

If you loved the unexpected twists, gripping narratives, and psychological depth, these Ghostwriting Founder’s recommendations are tailor-made for you.

1- Sharp Objects:

It is one of the best psychological tales ever written. This book, which came out in 2006, is about a writer named Camille Preaker who goes back to her city to look into the deaths of two girls.

This book has a story that will keep you on the edge of your seat for more than 300 pages as it weaves through dark secrets, broken relationships, and shocking discoveries.

The characters, like Amma and Adora Crellin, are just as memorable as the story’s events. Camille has to deal with her painful past while she tries to find out who killed the person.

Los Angeles Times, The New York Times and other literary publications gave this book great reviews, and it has since been turned into an award-winning T.V. series.

If you want to read an exciting psychological book that will keep you guessing until the end, The Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn is the thriller recommendation.

2- The Girl on the Train:

Paula Hawkins’s book The Girl on the Train contains secrets and surprises. Things aren’t always what they seem to be, and keeping a close eye on things can make a big difference.

The story is mostly about Rachel and how she gets to work every day. At least, that’s how it looks at first. She knows that it stops at the same spot for a short time so that she can see some flowers.

Rachel even names the people who live in one of the houses. Their names are Jess and Jason. She thinks that their life is better than hers.

But one day, in a minute, something shocking takes place. Rachel’s whole life changes. Her life changes all the time, even though the train goes on.

3- Guest List:

Lucy Foley’s The Guest List is a fast-paced, gripping psychological thriller that readers cannot put down until the very end. The 384-page book, which came out in 2020 from William Morrow, is set on an island off the coast of Ireland.

It shows how Jules and Will prepare for their wedding, which they both hope will be the best day of their lives. But something bad happens the night of their party, and it quickly turns into a story of lies, secrets, and betrayal.

This book has a lot of people, twists you didn’t see coming, and drama that will keep you guessing until the end.

You won’t be able to put it down as you read The Guest List until you know the truth. It’s one of the thriller recommendations and has an exciting story about family relationships, guilt, and murder.

More people want to read The Guest List because reviewers and fans have said nice things about it. Time Magazine named it one of the “Best Books of 2020,” and the Washington Post, USA Today, and Goodreads all gave it great reviews.

4- The Boy from the Woods:

Similar to The Silent Patient, the first book in Harlan Coben’s Wilde series is a creepy mystery. In both The Boy from the Woods and Alicia’s story, secrets from the past are important to the present.

Three decades ago, Wilde was discovered as a boy living alone in the woods and without knowledge of his past. He still doesn’t know where he came from as an adult, and another child has gone missing.

5- Behind Closed Doors:

B.A. Paris’s Behind Closed Doors introduces us to Jack and Grace, a couple with a great house, lots of money, and a family.

Their lives look so wonderful that it’s almost impossible not to want what they have.

The more you know them, the more you can’t help but notice how close they are.

As it goes on, you’ll become increasingly interested in these thriller recommendations, asking what happens behind closed doors when the dinner parties are over and the front door is locked.

6- The Last Thing He Told Me:

Hannah’s life is turned upside down in Laura Dave’s The Last Thing He Told Me when her husband Owen goes and leaves a mysterious note telling her to look out for his daughter Bailey, who lives far away.

She learns that her spouse may not be who he says he is as Hannah deals with the disappearance of Owen and his unreturned calls.

With Bailey’s help, they set out to find Owen’s real name and figure out what happened when he went missing.

7- Wrong Place, Wrong Time:

Time, destiny, and a mother’s willingness to do everything to protect her kid are all themes that run through the book. When Jen’s son Todd, who is 18 years old, comes home late on Halloween night—only to perpetrate a horrific act of violence—in Gillian McAllister’s Wrong Place Wrong Time, she finds herself in a nightmare scenario.

Jen is in utter disarray as she tries to make sense of the unexplainable atrocity.

However, the plot takes a remarkable turn when Jen learns that she is being carried farther back in time with each awakening.

She finds a ray of hope in this unforeseen occurrence, an opportunity to stop the murder before it happens.

8- The Best Friend:

An unsettling psychological thriller, Shalini Boland’s The Best Friend explores the poisonous dynamics of friendship, financial anxieties, and the lurking shadow of a hidden truth.

Louisa seems attracted to her new best friend, who has a fancy house, a lot of money, and many friends.

But there is a dark and scary secret hiding behind this front. The story takes a scary and frightening turn as Louisa gets more involved in her friend’s life.

9- Shutter Island:

It is known for its Leonardo DiCaprio film adaptation, but theses thriller recommendations are for The Silent Patient fans should read it. The book Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane also takes place in a hospital.

The new partner of the U.S. Marshal Teddy Daniels and he have come to Shutter Island, which is home to Ashecliffe Hospital for the Criminally Insane, to look into the loss of a patient.

Rachel Solando, a serial killer, is on the run somewhere on this remote and empty island, even though she is locked up and constantly watched.

As a devastating storm bears down on them, a strange case turns even darker and scarier.

10- The Night Shift:

In 2020, Penguin Random House released Alex Finlay’s The Night Shift, a great psychological thriller that is very powerful.

It has more than 260 pages and is about three main characters affected by two terrible New Year’s Eve attacks that happened fifteen years apart.

The FBI agent, the only person who survived the first attack, and her brother, who was suspected of being involved, all work together to catch the person who did it.

11- A Flicker in the Dark:

The 2020 book A Flicker in the Dark by Stacy Willingham is a great psychological thriller. It’s one of the picks from the thriller recommendations. The story revolves around an adult counselor who is having a hard time dealing with the fact that her father is in jail for the disappearance of six young girls.

When more people go missing in ways that seem eerily similar to the ones her father did, Chloe sets out to find the truth.

Among the novel’s other characters are Ethan, a reporter who investigates Chloe’s love interest and helps her find answers; Detective Riley, eager to solve the exciting mystery; and Donny, a bad guy with a secret agenda. It’s a race against time for them to discover what’s happening with the missing people.

12- The September House:

In her first book, The September House, Carissa Orlando writes an exhilarating debut.

The narrative revolves around Margaret and Hal, a couple who purchased a notorious Victorian mansion. In September, the mansion is haunted, with dripping walls and spectral figures.

Margaret refuses to go, even though most people would leave.

13- My Lovely Wife:

Samantha Downing’s “My Lovely Wife” was released on April 2, 2019, through Penguin Random House, renowned as one of the premier book marketing agencies. There are 336 pages in it. With its tight story and complex characters, this psychological thriller looks into the darkest parts of people’s minds to show how deep the darkness goes.

The story is about a man who doesn’t want to be named and his wife of fifteen years who wants to spice up their relationship by taking up murder. But they have no idea that their need for adventure will lead them down a path that could kill them.

FAQ’s

What Are Some Highly Recommended Pokemon Books for Fans of All Ages?

Some best Pokemon books include the “Pokémon Adventures” manga series, “The Official Pokémon Handbook,” and “Detective Pikachu: Story of the Movie.”

How Much Does It Cost to Publish a Book On Amazon?

The Amazon book publishing cost varies. Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) offers free publishing, but additional services like professional cover design or editing may incur extra charges.

What Qualities Should I Look for In An Editor For Children’s Books?

An editor for children’s books should have experience working with the target age group, a keen understanding of age-appropriate language, and the ability to provide constructive feedback that enhances the story.

Key Characteristics and Profound Details

Thriller Recommendations Author Synopsis
Sharp Objects Gillian Flynn A gripping tale of writer Camille Preaker delving into dark secrets and broken relationships in her hometown, keeping readers on the edge for over 300 pages.
The Girl On The Train Paula Hawkins Follow the life-altering events of Rachel during her daily train commute, revealing secrets and surprises that challenge perceptions.
Guest List Lucy Foley Set on an Irish island, Jules and Will’s wedding turns into a story of lies, secrets, and betrayal, with unexpected twists that keep readers guessing until the end.
The Boy From The Woods Harlan Coben Wilde, a man with a mysterious past, unravels dark secrets tied to a missing child, creating a creepy mystery where past and present collide.
Behind Closed Doors B.A. Paris Jack and Grace seem like the perfect couple, but as the story unfolds, readers discover the chilling truth behind closed doors and dinner parties.
The Last Thing He Told Me Laura Dave Hannah’s life takes a dramatic turn when her husband leaves a mysterious note, leading her and Bailey on a journey to uncover his true identity and the events surrounding his disappearance.
Wrong Place, Wrong Time Gillian McAllister A tale of a mother’s nightmare when her son commits a horrific act, only to find herself inexplicably transported back in time, offering a chance to prevent the tragedy.

The Bottom Line:

There are many awesome books out there similar to “The Silent Patient” that you should check out. These 13 thriller recommendations cover all kinds of suspenseful and mind-bending stories.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Looking for Help with Your Book Writing Journey?
Discuss with Us for Detailed Information on Hiring Professionals.

Get Started +1 (872) 588-8263 Live Chat
Google books icon
amazon books image
alibris books image
ingram image
barnes and noble image